Crystalline

She laughed. “What do you mean you love me? We just met.”

“Yet I’m madly in love with you.”

“What do you love about me?”

“The way you talk. I love the clarity of your thought, that sparkle in your eyes. I love the lustre of your smile.”

“You talk like a geologist.”

“And I’ve found a jewel. I’m in love with you.”

“You don’t even know my name.”

“So tell me.”

“Guess.”

“Ruby. No, it’s Gem, that’s what you are.”

“No, and no. Not Ruby, not Gem.”

“Tell me.”

“My name is Crys.”

“Crys?”

Short for Crystalline.”

“Aha!”

 

For Carrot Ranch, July 27, 2017 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story using the word crystalline. It can be used in typical forms or in creative ways (like the name of a town). What meaning does it hold for the story or character(s)? Go where the prompt leads!

9 thoughts on “Crystalline

  1. Ha! Fun take. What a contrast your two pieces are. I haven’t finished my response yet, so shouldn’t have been reading yours, but I’ve used the same name for a character in my story. Not quite so cleverly done as yours though. We’ll see.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I usually don’t read before responding too. And then worry mine will be too like something already posted. And then they are all different, despite the one word. Fun. I also worry weekly that the well has run dry, but then something comes to me. I look forward to your story. You are the clever one who ties your story in to a substantial post every week.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Crystalline « Carrot Ranch Communications

Leave a Reply

